Zombietronics
Living Dead Girl

Why Everything You Love Is Wrong

Hi! Welcome to the first edition of Why Everything You Love Is Wrong – the half-hour weekly show where we discuss why your opinions suck and you should die in a fire!

If it wasn’t obvious, I spend a lot of time on Twitter. Possibly too much time, but that’s objective, and your opinion on the topic is unimportant to me.
For the most part I have really enjoyed Twitter, as it has introduced me to a lot of Local People around Brisbane, given me opportunities to take part in activities, it’s a good source of links to news and keeps me up to date, and I’ve even gotten a few people jobs through it, which makes me feel all fuzzy inside. The general “demeanor” of Twitter is a friendly one, except for when big things happen in Real Life and people begin to discuss them. For the most part, on Twitter AND in real life, I’m not exactly good at arguing my point or engaging in conversations about big things, though I do have my own opinions on them – so I tend to stay the hell away from anything that involves arguing or confrontation. I just don’t like it. I’m like Twitter-Lite – I tweet about zombies, movies, stupid stuff that happens at work, what I’m doing on the weekend and occasionally, poop (really should tweet about poop more often).

So I don’t quite understand why the fuck I have attracted trolls as of late. There are about five people (specifically, five dudebros of the male persuasion) who follow me and only ever talk to me to tell me Why I’m Wrong. Comments I’ve received from them include astute observations about making sammitches, being in the kitchen, putting on weight, high heels and being a lesbian. Three of those things I really enjoy actually.

Is this a form of courtship? When I was in 7th grade, the boy who lived down the road, Chris Brown (no relation to THAT Chris Brown), tackled me really hard in football and it WASN’T TACKLE FOOTBALL. I got up and punched him in the face – when I got sent home from school for it, my mum just told me that it was because he likes me. We became best friends when he stopped hurting me for no reason, and we’d train for the cross country together, ride our bikes down the massive hill at the end of my lane and go swimming in my dam.

So is the blatant and relentless trolling I receive just an immature and cowardly form of saying “LOL UR A HOT GIRL ON THE INTERNET, wanna bang?” Or is it something a little more sinister? Say perhaps, on an occasion when I HAVE said something a little incendiary, these dudes have been watching, and gone, “oh look, a girl with an opinion…let’s shut her up.” Because to be honest, the five people that I am thinking of, have ALL responded harshly to me when I have tweeted something with a feminist bent. And now it’s sort of carried on trying to shut me up on everything I tweet, and it gets a little tiring. If you don’t like me, don’t fucking follow me. If you do like me but you’re just trying to be edgy-funny, maybe you can check yoself, stop being such a sexist privileged douchefuck, and we can go ride our bikes down big hills together.

As I said before, I’m no good at all with confrontation, so I just play blind-defense and ignore these assholes. I don’t like to dignify bullshit with a response.

I know it’s been passed around a lot and hopefully everyone in the world will have read it, but shit like this always brings me back to Kate Harding’s epic post called On Being a No-Name Blogger Using Her Real Name – about cyberbullying and why it is so shit. If you haven’t read it, perhaps you should school yourself.

I’m tired and my lasagne is cooked so that about wraps it up for today.

Stay tuned for the next few episodes of Why Everything You Love Is Wrong where I talk about why Sixteen Candles and The Breakfast Club were horrible movies, and then shit all over your childhood in “Smurf War”.

Troll

They see me trollin. They hatin.

6 Responses to “Why Everything You Love Is Wrong”

  1. I didn’t mind Breakfast Club, for all its eh! SIXTEEN CANDLES MADE FLAMES ON THE SIDE OF MY FACE THOUGH DDD:

    • I’d never seen either before and Aaron made me watch them both when John Hughes died, he was all, man, it’s like, exactly how I felt when I was a teenager! It’s a cult classic! Breakfast Club didn’t piss me off so much, just the fact that people all hold it up to be amazing when really…I don’t know…I guess I didn’t watch it at the right age, cause y’know, I don’t hate my parents anymore, and I don’t blame them for my entire life being shit.
      But uh….Sixteen Candles…I was just sitting there in shock. Total shock.

  2. That Kate Harding link was epic. Thanks.

    (although its possible our friendship is now under considerable strain for your indifference to the breakfast club </3!!!!111)

  3. But I love The Breakfast Club! Waaaaaaah!!

    :-P

    I do wonder why people continue to follow those they diss all the time. People are weird.

    *goes off to read that to which you linked*


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

